TEMPLE & MANUMENTS


Kamakhya temple: Religiously Guwahati holds a very important place as it possesses the 6 th sakti peeth constructed by the koch king, Naranarayan, in the 10 th century situated atop the Nilachal hill. During Ambubashi mela, thousands of pilgrims as well as tourists throng the Kamakhya Temple.

Umananda Temple: Situated in the smallest island of river Brahmaputra, Umananda has a famous Shiva temple. The beautiful temple built during the Ahom period can be reached only through motor boats and public ferries

State Museum: Assam State Museum has a rare collection of archaeological and ethnographic displays. The collection includes stone and copper plate inscriptions dating from the 5th century, a 12th century sculpture of 'Surya', terracotta pieces and costumes.

State Zoo: The zoo at Guwahati is the largest natural zoo in India. Different animal and bird species including Assam's famed one -horned rhino could be seen in the zoo. There is also a museum and a beautiful zoological garden within the zoo premises.

Basistha Ashram Besides a picturesque waterfall 11-km southeast of Guwahati, two small red-domed temples at Basistha (also spelt as Vashistha), in Assamese beehive style, commemorate Vashistha Muni, the author of the Ramayana.

Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra : The Kalakshetra is the newest addition to the many attractions of Guwahati. Built in the 1990's, the artistic excellence of Assam and rest of the north-eastern region is displayed here. There are eateries, places of worship, emporiums and open air theatres within the sprawling Kalakshetra premises.

SualkuchiThe Silk Town: Sualkuchi is one of the world's largest weaving villages often called the Manchester of the East. The entire population here is engaged in weaving extraordinary silk fabrics. It is a renowned centre of silk production, particularly known for Muga - the golden silk of Assam which is not produced anywhere else in the world.

Hajo: It is a place where three religions meet - Hinduism, Islam and Buddhism. It has a large number of temples, the chief among them being Hayagriva-Madhab Temple. There is a belief that this temple contains the relic of Lord Buddha, while a section of the Buddhist holds that Lord Buddha attained nirvana here. Large number of Bhutanese visits this temple every year during the winter season. There is a place of pilgrimage for Muslims here known as Poa-Mecca.





Kareng Ghar & Talatal Ghar:
A seven storied palace having three storeys underground - known as Talatalghar and the upper storeys known as Kareng Ghar built by King Rudra Singha (1696-1714) is only 4 km from Sivasagar town. There were two underground tunnels from the Talatal Ghar connecting Dikhow River and Gargaon palace which were later blocked by the East India Company.

Rang Ghar:
A two storied oval shapped pavillion from which Ahom royalities watched elephant fights and other sporting events. It was built by King Pramatta Singha (1744-1751) and stands close to the Kareng Ghar.

Gargaon Palace:
Gargaon, the principal town of Ahoms, built by the XV the king, Suklenmung in 1540, lies 13 kms. East of Sivasagar, The old palace was destroyed and the Present seven storied palace was rebuilt around 1762 by King Rajeswar Singha.

Joysagar Tank and Temples:
The tank was built by King Rudra Singha in memory of his mother 'Joymoti1, a patriotic martyr, in 1697 at Rangpur (5 km.) It covers an area of 318 acres and on its banks 3 temples were built in 1698 by the same monarch. These are the Joydol (Vishnu temple), the Shivadol and the Devidol which are highly revered.






Gaurisagar Tank and Temple:
The Gaurisagar tank was built by Queen Phuleswari Devi (1722-1791) and was dedicated to goddess Durga. It is 150 acres under water & on it's banks stand the Devidol & the vishnudol temples, Gaurisagar is only 12 kms from Sivasagar.

Rudrasagar Tank and Temple:
Built in 1773 king Lakshmi Singha in memory of his far king Rudra Singha. On its banks stands a shiva Temple - 8 kms from Sivasagar town.

Namdang stone Bridge:
The Bridge, a cut out m a single solid rock over the Namdang river kms from Sivasagar was constructed by work-n brought from Bengal during the reign of tig Rudra Singha in 1703.

Charaideo:
The original capital of the Ahom ngs, built by Sukapha, the founder of the Ahom nasty, in 1253 A.D. is 28 kms east of Sivasagar Nn. It is famous for the numerous "Maidams" burrial vaults of kings and other members of royal families.

Ajan Pir Dargah Sarif:
At Saraguri Chapori 2 kms) stands Ajan Pir Dargah Sarif. Ajan Pir as first Muslim Saint to compose "ZIKIRS" in assamese language.